About Us

One of the geographically largest school jurisdictions in Alberta, Prairie Land encompasses approximately 15,500 square kilometres (6,000 square miles) in the East-Central region of the province. The Prairie Land school jurisdiction is sparsely populated and located a considerable distance from major urban centres. 

Although geographically very large, the jurisdiction serves a population of around 1300 students from kindergarten to grade twelve.. The economic base in the region is historically agricultural, although in recent years there have been increasing levels of energy related development. Prairie Land's Central Office is located in the town of Hanna, Alberta.

Prairie Land Regional Division was formed in January, 1995 as part of the restructuring of education governance in the Province of Alberta, Canada. At that time, four small school divisions, (Berry Creek, Neutral Hills, Rangeland and Starland), joined together in an effort to reduce the costs associated with system governance and administration. Prairie Land prides itself on delivering quality education through a variety of means to all the students in the jurisdiction, regardless of their location. The eight member Board of Trustees has a strong committment to maintaining its small schools and seeking innovative means of delivering quality programming to students in remote centres.