Prairie Land Public School Division

101 Palliser Trail
PO Box 670
Hanna, Alberta
T0J 1P0


"Small Schools Preparing Students for Big Futures"

Our focus: Teaching and Learning, Health and Wellness, Culture and Inclusivity, Community and Engagement

Board Meeting Highlights - August 29, 2023

New Prairie Land Staff

Prairie Land Public School Division would like to welcome all new staff to the jurisdiction for the 2023-2024 school year. As Prairie Land continues to grow in student numbers, the recruitment of quality staff remains a priority for our division.  Over the past three years, Prairie Land has almost doubled its full time staff complement to over 400 individuals. 


Archery World Champions

The Board of Trustees would like to congratulate Altario student Sean Murphy, Youngstown student Vance Laughlin, and J.C. Charyk Hanna School students Holly and Natalie Karg, as they traveled to Limpopo, South Africa to compete in the World Archery Competition this past July.  Vance and Sean competed for the Canadian Junior Team while Holly and Natalie were members of the Canadian Developmental Team.  The individual archery scores let to the junior/development team winning medals and let to the overall tournament win by team Canada.  The Board of Trustees would like to congratulate our Prairie Land athletes.


Al-Amal Online Academy

The Board of Trustees passed a motion for the existence of the new Al-Amal Online Academy that will be opening its doors this fall for grades 10-12. This online public faith-based high school will provide Alberta Curriculum to those Division IV students throughout the province that desire both Islamic and Arabic studies in addition to the regular curriculum offered in other public schools. 


Purchase of Transportation/Maintenance Shop

Prairie Land has successfully purchased a new transportation shop located in Hanna (304 Railway Avenue) to help alleviate the pressures and ongoing demands of growth placed upon both the transportation and maintenance departments.  

For additional information please contact: Cam McKeage, Superintendent of Schools, Prairie Land Public  School Division 403.854.4481.

Prairie Land Public School Division

Board of Trustees Board Meeting

September 19, 2023

The September 19, 2023 Organizational and regular Board meetings will be held in person at Central Office at 9:00 a.m. To view the Board agendas click here and here.   The Organizational meeting will be held first and then the regular Board meeting will commence with in-camera starting the meeting.  To view the recorded organizational meeting click hereTo view the recorded regular meeting click part 1, part 2 and part 3.  

To view the meeting click the meeting date above.

Online Learning

Prairie Land Public School Division offers a choice of two online learning opportunities for the 2022-2023 school year.  Please visit Hope Christian School or Prairie Land Online for more information regarding your alternative learning needs.  

Hope Christian Online School Registration Form

Prairie Land Pride Newsletter - Volume 8, Issue 4, April 2023.pdf
Prairie Land Points - December 22, 2022.pdf
Prairie Land Education Plan 2023-2026 (Sept. 22, 2023).pdf