Prairie Land Public School Division

101 Palliser Trail
PO Box 670
Hanna, Alberta
T0J 1P0


"Small Schools Preparing Students for Big Futures"

Our focus: Teaching and Learning, Health and Wellness, Culture and Inclusivity, Community and Engagement

Board Meeting Highlights - February 15, 2022

2022-2023 Prairie Land Division Calendar

At the February 15 Board meeting, the Trustees approved the 2022-2023 Prairie Land Public School Division Calendar. The calendar provides family holidays during the weeks of November 7-11 and February 20-24 in addition to our traditional Christmas and Easter breaks. This approved calendar includes 181 instructional days and 191 teacher days, with six Professional Development days. The Board appreciates the feedback and the support that it received for this calendar from our school communities.

Prairie Land International Students

Close to thirty grade 11 students from Brazil arrived last week as a part of the Prairie Land International Student Program. These exchange students will be attending Morrin, J.C. Charyk, Youngstown, and Delia schools; in addition, there is one student from China enrolled in Prairie Land Online Academy. The students are excited to be in Canada and are looking forward to the many educational, cultural and social opportunities that Prairie Land will provide them. As part of the ongoing efforts to create a healthy and viable school authority, there is potential for this program to grow and continue to bring both diversity and resources to our schools. The Board thanks all host families for their commitment to partnering with this initiative.

Housing Unit Addition

The Board of Trustees passed a motion to assume the outstanding mortgage on a house owned by the Altario Parent Projects Society, located in Kirriemuir. This home was purchased by the Society in 2014 as an incentive to potentially attract and retain staffing for the Altario School. Moving forward, this house will be added to the division teacherages, which are also found in Cessford, Delia, Youngstown, Veteran, Consort and Altario. The Board would like to thank the Altario Parent Projects Society for this opportunity as they continue to find ways to retain staff for Prairie Land Public School Division.

For additional information please contact: Cam McKeage, Superintendent of Schools, Prairie Land Public School Division 403.854.4481.

Board Meeting Highlights - March 22, 2022

2022-2023 Budget Guidelines and Allocation Parameters

The Board approved the 2022-2023 Budget Guiding Principles and Allocation Parameters which had been reviewed at their February 28 working session. The Budget Guidelines define the overarching elements that Prairie Land adopts while the Allocation Parameters provide administration with the tools to allocate funds to schools and support areas. Budget development will commence immediately with final Board approval slated for May 24, 2022.

2021-2024 Three-year Capital Plan

The Board passed a motion to approve the 2021-2024 Three-year Capital Plan and concurrently the most pressing structural needs throughout the division within our facilities. The Youngstown School building envelope and partial modernization upgrade is the Board’s first priority and submission for consideration. The Veteran School partial modernization has been recognized as the second priority, and the Altario School partial modernization has been recognized as the third priority. A fourth priority for the J.C. Charyk Hanna School has been added to the plan for the expansion of the automotive CTS shop. The Three-year Capital Plan will be submitted to Alberta Infrastructure by April 1, 2022.

Harvest Sky Presentation

Harvest Sky Economic Development Manager Mark Nikota presented to the Board of Trustees a feasibility study regarding worker transition, building capacity for adult learning and creating partnerships with organizations throughout the Harvest Sky Region (Hanna and Youngstown). The Board is encouraged by this work and is looking forward to partnering with other organizations to strengthen our school communities.

For additional information please contact: Cam McKeage, Superintendent of Schools, Prairie Land Public School Division 403.854.4481.

Prairie Land Public School Division Board Of Trustees Board Meetings

April 26, 2022

The April 26, 2022 Board meeting will be held commencing at 9:00 a.m. To view the regular Board meeting agenda, please click here.

To view the meeting please click here.

Prairie Land Pride Newsletter - Volume 7, Issue 3, February 2022 (Revised).pdf